Home Page



Our Safeguarding Policies are agreed by the Trustee Board of Dartmoor Multi Academy Trust and can be assessed via the links below.



Safeguarding Policy 


Whistle Blowing Policy

Safeguarding Statement (September 2018)


North Tawton Community Primary School is committed to safeguarding and promoting the welfare of children and expects all staff and volunteers to share this commitment.

All staff are trained in safeguarding when they join the school and this training is updated annually or sooner if necessary. The training ensures staff are aware of the signs to look out for if a child may be being abused. It also informs them how to deal with the situation and report it appropriately. Similarly, children are reminded that they can share information with staff who will always be there to listen and support them.

We have a number of policies and procedures in place that contribute to our safeguarding commitment, including our Safeguarding Policy and Whistleblowing Policy, which can be viewed in the Policies section of our website. In addition to the normal support you would expect in schools, North Tawton has a Thrive Room which supports children through periods of vulnerability to ensure the school remains a positive and supportive experience.

Sometimes we may need to share information and work in partnership with other agencies when there are concerns about a child's welfare. We will ensure that our concerns about our pupils are discussed with his/her parents/carers first unless we have reason to believe that such a move would be contrary to the child's welfare. We work closely with Devon Children’s Services.

We actively support the Government's Prevent Agenda to counter radicalism and extremism and staff have received training in this as well.

We urge all visitors to the school to help us support the safeguarding of all pupils. If you have a concern while visiting the school, then it should be reported to the Designated Safeguarding Lead or one of her deputies. This can be done directly or through the school office.

Our Designated Safeguarding Lead (DSL) is Sunita Chauhan (Head of School). Our Deputy DSLs are Jason Foreman (SLT) and Helen Martin who specifically oversees Safeguarding in the Early Years. 


Bringing learning to life